A Birmingham, AL native, Wes McDonald remains a Birmingham resident and operates out of the sleepy town that is rumored to be waking up. In the late nineties, having zero record releases under his belt, McDonald moved from Birmingham to Athens, Ga, where he did a 6 year residency. He released his first solo album, Alarm Clock Recordings, in 2000, and in the process, formed The Ohms with fellow former Tuscaloosa musicians, Jeff Buckley and Mark Evces; and South Carolina's Andrew "the Fidldlin' Heatwave" Heaton. The Ohms became a local favorite in Athens, and toured all over the southeast. The Ohms released 2 records, Electrical Resistance and If you don't Think I Love You . . .

Amidst the success of The Ohms, McDonald continued his solo work, recording two more albums, 2001's Chandelier, and Cutting Up Rocks in 2002. The release of Cuttin' Up Rocks coincided with McDonald's return to Birmingham, the end of The Ohms, and a reunion with his former Birmingham mates from way back, Matthew Jackson, Drew Davis and Jake Waitzman. This lineup made up the Wes McDonald Plan, and McDonald's venture back into the Birmingham music scene had begun.

Soon after, McDonald released The Guest, on Birmingham-based indie label, Skybucket Records. “Touche”, a song from this record, earned the opening slot on the Birmingham music scene double-disc compilation, Low Dose Exposure, put together by Skybucket Records chief, Travis Morgan. During this time McDonald and the Plan toured a lot, including a 2005 showcase at SouthbySouthwest. Following The Guest came 2006's 1:50 in the Furnace, a tawdry break out rock album produced by Ken Coomer (of Wilco fame) and Charlie Brocco. McDonald would later call this album pivotal, and say that the experience of working with Coomer and Brocco greatly improved his approach to making music.

As 1:50 in the Furnace sank in, Wes was busy making an ep with his Alaskan buddy, Terry Ohms. No one knows much about Terry. Rumor has it that Wes is Terry. Terry Ohms plays Wes McDonald released in October 2006, is an 8 song ep that comes out of nowhere. Then came the LP What Do You Mean, What Do I Mean? followed by the EP Terry Ohms Gets Emotional . Terry will release another EP,  A Lot More Than Enough, September 13th, 2017.

All the while the aforementioned was happening, in 2007 McDonald teamed up with Les Nuby, Jake Waitzman and Keelan Parish to form Vulture Whale.  The band has released five albums to date and continue doing that four piece rock thang like a hair fire in a shit storm.